How to Enhance the Plasticity of Your Brain

There has been a lot of  studies proving that neuroplasticity is a big  help in stroke/brain injury recovery.  This solution is the safest and cheapest so far among other newly discovered rehabilitation treatments since it doesn’t involve any drug intake or chemical penetration in our body but it suggests natural physical activities which the patients can choose to or not to do depending on their level of strength and capability.

In this video, Dr. Max Cynader, explains what is brain plasticity and gives tips on how we can improve it.

Dr. Max Cynader is Director of the Brain Research Centre, and the Djavad Mowafaghian Centre for Brain Health at Vancouver Coastal Health and The University of British Columbia (UBC). In addition, he holds the Canada Research Chair in Brain Development at UBC and is Professor of Ophthalmology. He is also a Member of the Order of Canada (CM), Member of the Order of British Columbia (OBC), Fellow of The Royal Society of Canada (FRSC), Fellow of The Canadian Academy for Health Sciences (FCAHS), and a Principal Investigator in Canada’s Network of Excellence in Stroke.

Dr. Cynader was born in Berlin, Germany in 1947 and obtained his B.Sc. at McGill University in 1967, and his Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1972. Following postdoctoral training at the Max Planck Institute, Dr. Cynader held positions at Dalhousie University in Halifax, and in 1979 was awarded the E.W.R. Steacie Fellowship of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council as one of Canada’s outstanding young scientists. He attained the rank of Professor of Psychology in 1981 and Professor of Physiology in 1984, and held the position of Killam Research Professor from 1984 to 1988. On arriving at UBC in 1988, Dr. Cynader headed the Ophthalmology Research Group at UBC until 1998, at which time he was appointed Founding Director of the Brain Research Centre.

Source : TEDx Talks – Youtube

5 thoughts on “How to Enhance the Plasticity of Your Brain

  1. I think your information is useful to brain injury patients- but it starts much simpler. After brain injury- sleeping is not as easy- so nothing was easy. I kept my faith though I could not feel it- I cared for my body and tried to give my brain rest so it would have less work to do for awhile. My brain would not rest though. Every task I did for months took all of my brain energy, as it was like there was a dialogue between my brain and my body. Example: ” Get out of bed- push the covers down- walk to the bathroom…. wash your hands — drink a glass of water— pour your coffee”…etc. All day long day after day. I felt no connection to my life or people- but my memory helped me to fake it. I knew I was still “in there” and I was waiting to feel normal….but not always hopeful that I would heal. My brain was trying to connect me back when my heart wasn’t in it…. and it was sometimes a brutal master.
    After 2 months, my neurology nurse suggested magnesium, as I refused other meds. Taking it helped me to heal many parts of my body – which helped me to sleep. This in turn helped me to have the energy to exercise a bit. Exercise didn’t happen until I regained the drive to do my daily chores- though somewhat less attached to the tasks and not doing as many…. at least I was still TRYING. What an amazing helper the brain becomes as it takes control of the situations and guides you through to healing.

    Side Note: I truly appreciate that people study the brain…the information I gained by looking up different studies really helped me during my problem. However, for patient care- I believe that every scientist and doctor should tell their patient the simple ways to assist healing. You all know the benefits of magnesium and that most of us are deficient. ❤

    Like

    1. Wow I appreciate your comment on this matter dear. I have had a problem with sleep a few weeks after my stroke but was able to resolve it with muscle relaxant and anti spasm drugs. the doctor recommended that I take the meds before bedtime…. 🙂 Thank you so much for your information about magnesium! That would also be beneficial to some. I am also happy that you resolve your sleeping issue and shared it here!!! hugsss I also agree that doctors can explain this in a much more understandable way…. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Needed this video this morning…. | thereslifeafterstroke

  3. I am nearly 30 years out from my amazingly traumatic brain experience(s) and, for many years, I had a quite elusive memory deficit that foiled many things I would try to do.

    Then, I was turned onto using voice recognition software with a PC, Microsoft Word and a digital recorder.

    I used them, together, and was able to lessen the damage that was caused to my cognition. Please contact me, at: mattramzzz@comcast.net or at: http://www.Facebook.com/mattramzzz1971.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment